Sunshine Grapefruit cake

I have lonely grapefruit – it’s usually where the story starts for most citrus fruits cake – who needs a good home so I merged a couple of lemon drizzle cakes recipes and came up with this.

G cake in tin

Sunshine Grapefruit Cake

100ml grapefruit juice
75g sugar
2 eggs
120g self raising flour
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
100g stork
1 tbsp lemon curd
zest of 1 grapefruit

Topping

50ml grapefruit juice
2 tsp sugar

I beat the sugar and stork together and added the eggs, lemon curd (I now wish I’d added 2 tbsp of lemon curd as it gives a lovely creamy texture to the bake) and grapefruit zest.  I sifted the flour and bicarbonate into the mix and started to fold in using the grapefruit juice to loosen the mix.  It was a light fluffy slightly pink batter which started to foam from the bicarb.  It fitted nicely in a 7″ round tin which I’d lined and baked at 175’c fan for 30 minutes.  It was golden, coming away from the sides of the tin and had risen well, a good experiment I thought.  I then poured the grapefruit juice over the top of the hot cake and sprinkled the sugar over too, just as I have done with a lemon drizzle cake recipe I use.  Unfortunately the juice in this case made the light cake soggy….. SOGGY! I’m quite disappointed.

top

The cake is light and doesn’t really taste of grapefruit at all until you finish a slice and then your mouth and lips tingle with the grapefruit zing.  Remarkable effect and one that takes you back for another slice just to be sure it was the cake that made your mouth shudder.

g cake slice

You can see from the picture above it’s just the centre corner which is wet from too much juice.  The cake batter is good and I wouldn’t change it however I would use 100ml of grapefruit juice and 50g sugar to make a syrup to pour over the top instead.  It would have to be a really sticky reduced syrup that would glaze the cake rather than seep in.

g cake slice

Thank you for reading

One response to “Sunshine Grapefruit cake

Leave a Reply

