Chocolate Cinnamon Cake with Cinnamon Streusel topping

I was scouring the internet looking for moist cinnamon cake when I happened upon this Chocolate Cinnamon Cake recipe.  I really do get sucked in by chocolate cake recipes especially when they require so much liquid (makes a very soft fudgy cake).  My initial vision had a streusel topping rather than a thick frosting so I’ve made some adjustments.  I love looking for new recipes via the internet, one flavour can open up so many different ideas.

main streusel

Chocolate Cinnamon Cake

250g Plain flour
400g Sugar
227g Stork (Butter)
35g Cocoa
250ml water
115g Sour cream
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
1 tsp salt

I heated the cocoa, stork and water in a pan until melted and combined.  Whilst it was melting I whisked (you can sift) the flour, sugar, salt, bicarbonate of soda and cinnamon together.  In another bowl I beat the eggs, sour cream and vanilla together.  I added the cocoa mix and the egg mix to the flour mix and beat until combined.  It was a liquid batter and I was worried about how light it would be when cooked.  I then scattered the streusel mix over the top and magically it sat on top of the liquid batter and didn’t sink.

Cinnamon Streusel topping

145g self raising flour
100g butter
100g sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

I rubbed the butter into the flour until I had lump yellow breadcrumbs and then stirred in the sugar and cinnamon (cutting the mix all the time other wise it would turn into dough).

side streusel

The original recipe recommends the following tin and bake times…

Oven 400’f / 180’c

10×15″ cake pan = 30 – 35 minutes

9×13″ cake pan = 40 – 50 minutes

My cake pan is 12×8″ and I baked it for 40 minutes at 180’c (which is hot for my oven).  The skewer came out clean and the bake was shrinking away from the sides and the streusel was browned.  As you can see in the pictures the cake is dense on the bottom but the rest is light and delicate.  I think the dense base is due to so much liquid and the sour cream in the mix (and a slightly smaller tin).  My only adjustment would be another teaspoon of cinnamon in the batter as my cocoa is very dark and masks the cinnamon taste.  The cinnamon comes through in the streusel.

slice

Thank you for reading

2 responses to “Chocolate Cinnamon Cake with Cinnamon Streusel topping

Leave a Reply

