Tropical yoghurt cake with passion fruit and orange syrup glaze

I made a zesty but dense lemon yoghurt cake (that I found on a great blog) the other week but unfortunately only the outer rim of the cake was cooked well and the centre was stodge.  The recipe didn’t specify a tin size and clearly my 9″ round tin wasn’t big enough for the job.  The taste of the cook part of the cake was brilliant and I really wanted to make it again but I didn’t fancy risking the same recipe so I found another very similar recipe and adapted it to include a combination of raspberry and passion fruit yoghurt and mango, papaya and passion fruit yoghurt.   So to keep the name short I’ve called it tropical yoghurt cake…

tropical yoghurt cake

Tropical yoghurt cake

125g stork
250g caster sugar
2 eggs
250ml combination of raspberry + passion fruit and mango, papaya + passion fruit
1 tsp vanilla essence
250g plain flour
2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt

I beat the stork and sugar until light and fluffy and added the eggs mixing well after adding each one (standard procedure).  I folded in the yoghurt and vanilla thoroughly (no yoghurt lumps) before sifting the flour, baking powder and salt and mixing well.  I tried not to over mix but the batter was quite thick and pockets of flour were visible.   I levelled the mix out in a lined 8″ round cake tin and baked for 40 minutes at 175’c fan before checking for colour and crumb.  It was well coloured but not done so another 5 minutes in the oven.  Having cut the cake maybe 10 minutes might have been better.

naked cake

Passion fruit and Orange syrup glaze

100ml fresh squeezed orange juice (1 orange)
pulp from 2 ripe passion fruit
50g sugar

I put all the ingredients above into a small non stick pan and heated until the sugar had dissolved and then boiled for 5-10 minutes until it had thickened slightly.  Lovely orange syrup with green passion fruit seeds flecked throughout.  I waited until the cake was completely cold before pouring the syrup over.  A nice finish to a yoghurt cake.

slice

I’m thrilled with the taste (and I’ve tasted quite a lot of it) but next time I make it I’m going to add bicarbonate of soda to the mix for some extra lift.  It is a very dense cake, with lots of delicate flavours which can be identified individually.  Also it has a very creamy taste to it.  It’s not heavy so you can’t be sure you’ve had a piece which usually means you need another… hence why I’ve eaten lots.  I’m going to save this one for the summer and make it again, ideal for a picnic.

slice

edge

top

Thank you for reading

One response to “Tropical yoghurt cake with passion fruit and orange syrup glaze

Leave a Reply

