Gluten free lemon spice cake

I love a challenge but I didn’t realise that gluten-free baking meant a whole new method of baking.  I thought I’d start with something simple, lemon cake and I found this gluten-free lemon spice cake on all recipes and thought that looks easy enough (really need to start re-assessing my ability).

gluten free cake

Now I realise that gluten-free really means your sponge will lack spring and your bread will lack elasticity.  This is one of the flattest sponges I have made possibly ever.  I was worried by the slight dip in the middle of the cake meant that it wasn’t properly cooked, however after cutting into it I could see that it was completely baked.

close up

Gluten free lemon spice cake

  • 170g stork
  • 170g light muscovado sugar
  • 1 lemon, zest and juice of
  • 170g Doves gluten-free self-raising flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs
  • 75g caster sugar

I followed the classic sponge method of creaming the fat and sugar, however today I was advised to whisk the eggs and sugar to get the air required to make the cake light – something I will try for my next gluten-free cake.  With the stork and sugar mixed I added the lemon zest, eggs and spices and mixed well.  I then folded (that’s a laugh) in the flour.  Gluten free self-raising flour has a cornflour feel to it.  It had Xantham gum in the “flour” so I thought that would be enough raising agent but in hindsight it required gluten-free baking powder too.  The recipe called for either a 7″ or 8″ cake tin which is always a worry as the tin size for a recipe is really important.  I opted for a 8″ which was clearly too big making the cake flatter.  I baked it for 30 minutes at 175’c and it looked golden and raised when it came out of the oven.

gluten free slice

The caster sugar and lemon juice were mixed and spooned over the hot cake (lovely sweet crust) and I let it cool in the tin.  I would make it again because the combination of the spices and lemon was a pleasure to smell and taste.  It received praise from those who enjoyed it.

gluten free cake top

Thank you for reading

One response to “Gluten free lemon spice cake

Leave a Reply

