Mocha choca cakes

I had a plan, but nothing goes according to plan and we have to adapt….

cocoa and coffee

I recently bought some new callebaut cocoa powder and chocolate chips on the internet.  I use cocoa so much it works out cheaper to buy this great quality cocoa by the kilo.  I’ve been itching to use the new stuff and I’d just used the last of my bournville cocoa on brownies.

I use a very light chocolate cake recipe which happens to be vegan, is quick to make, great for children, low in fat (high in sugar) and uses store cupboard staples including cocoa powder.  It’s brilliant and I’ve used it many times as you don’t need any butter or eggs to make it.  I thought wouldn’t it be nice to try to adapt this using coffee as the main liquid which is fine and it worked but my strength of coffee was too weak so they ended up being very acceptable chocolate cupcakes but not what I had intended.

My modified version

  • 200g (7 oz) plain flour
  • 200g (7 oz) caster sugar
  • 5 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cider vinegar
  • 200ml coffee
  • 50ml Kalua

vegan plain battervegan cake in tinvegan bite

vegan cake

On the website it mentions adding chocolate chips or nuts to the mix, which I did but the chocolate chips sunk as the sponge is too light to support the chips.

w chocolate

These vegan chocolate cakes feature regularly in our house, as they are easy, quick and don’t require many ingredients.  I always make them in muffin cases as they cook in about 15-20 minutes.  They spring back and have a good “crust” when cooked.  They also keep for several days in a tin and the crust starts to soften and develop a sticky top much like gingerbread cake.  I will however try the coffee flavour again but with strong instant or many measures of espresso. Not really a defeat as we have nice cake in a tin.

Leave a Reply

